001. Day One On The Alien Planet

“This is going to be great!”  
“I can’t wait to put all my ideas into one cute little blog space!”
“I hope to trigger conversations to better educate myself on pertinent topics!”

In case you were wondering, the above quotes were pulled directly from this noggin of mine preblog. In the months leading up to me actually sitting down and creating this blog, I was swarmed with ideas, hopes, aspirations; you name it. While theses are all still very current, it seems as though the moment when it finally came time to create my first post (after about an hour customizing this page to the best of my abilities), I found myself to have writers block. This situation was silly to me as I had actually written down so many ideas for topics I wanted to blog about, yet aside from the fact that my cat seemed to have eaten the paper, I wasn’t sure on where to even begin.

I find writing to be extremely intimidating. It blows my mind to see people put their thoughts and emotions onto paper(or web pages in this case) as if it were second nature. The words seem to flow so effortlessly and come together to create such a poetic piece. Now, I am not naive enough to believe that even the most gifted author faces no challenges. I realize there is much to the process of writing. Yet I still find myself faced with an incredible amount of anxiety thinking that I need to have 3 dictionaries, 4 thesauruses and 15 encyclopedias with me at all times to ensure I am providing the best content possible. I then remember that if I am able to access the internet to post on here then by default I have access to google on any device I own, which is A LOT easier to lug around (funny joke? no? I tried.)

Anyway, the point to this incredibly long introduction is that I have finally come to the conclusion that it doesn’t matter what topic I start with or how smarticle I sound explaining it. There will always be someone out there that stumbles upon this blog and will find something they dislike about it. Therefor, I strongly believe the best course of action for me is to write from the heart, right from the start! I am hoping to keep the swearing to a minimum and strive to sound at least as smart as a 5th grader. This I do solemnly swear.

I hope you, who ever you are, where ever you may be, will come along on this journey with me. May we laugh, cry, smile and frown all together.

If you’ve made it this far, I like you, I appreciate you. See you soon.

-Dani

001. Day One On The Alien Planet

Leave a Reply

