005. where’d you get that body from?

It finally happened. Yesterday, I shocked the entire world with one small appointment. Yesterday, I, Dani Saulnier, joined the gym.

THE GYM.

Leading up to this, I have been bombarded by invitations to join. A few of my coworkers had joined, as well as friends of mine, and they kept talking about how fun it would be for us all to go together. As fun as it sounded, and as much as I needed an intervention about my health habits, I always seemed to push away the idea.

It’s not something I talk about much, mostly because I don’t feel that I have it as bad as some people. I do suffer from anxiety. Some days are worse then others, but for the most part I am able to live a normal life (whatever that means). I do feel that anxiety does hold me back from doing things I would like to be doing; ie. going to the gym.

My thought process whenever I tried thinking about going to the gym was the following :
– “Everyone’s going to stare at me.”
-“Everyone laughs at the fat girl trying to work out.”
-“I’m going to look stupid not knowing what to do on machines.”
-“There’s no way I can keep up in classes.”
Theses thoughts are not healthy. These thoughts are clouding my judgement. Even though every single person I have spoken to about this has reassured me that those thoughts are just not the case, I still believed that it would be a traumatic experience. Until I actually went.

Fast forward to last night, I finished work and decided “Okay, today’s the day. I’m going to get my membership.” So I headed on over and met with the two nicest people I have ever met. Not only were they very comforting, but they actually took into consideration that I was SO nervous and had previous feelings of anxiety associated with the gym as a whole. They gave me pointers and options on how I can get the most out of my gym experience while keeping the anxiety to a minimal. They made me feel as though I belonged and seemed to genuinely care about every word I spoke. They applauded me for the small milestones I achieved recently and are helping me get to where I am going.

Tomorrow morning I meet with a personal trainer. He will be showing me the ropes, giving me some insight on how to better my lifestyle and teach me how to get back into shape. The person I am seeing is even recognized for his knowledge in weight management and life coaching.

I can’t wait to see where this journey takes me. My only goal is to get healthy. That obviously means I am going to shed some pounds, but I don’t want to overwhelm myself with numbers. So here’s to the first day of the rest of my life!!!

& if you have managed to read this far, I like you and I appreciate you.

-Dani

005. where’d you get that body from?

Leave a Reply

